Skip to Content

Yellowstone to End with Season 5B, Sequel Confirmed

Paramount Network today announced a new, untitled Yellowstone sequel from creator Taylor Sheridan — a further expansion of the Yellowstone universe — has been greenlit straight-to series. The cast will be announced shortly.

The new series will premiere in December on Paramount Network and later on Paramount+ following the epic, final cycle of Yellowstone — television’s #1 hit series — which will debut in November.

Yellowstone to End with Season 5B, Sequel Confirmed

Season 5A continued to break records with the premiere garnering over 17 million total viewers unleashing a passionate audience from the middle of the country to each of the coasts.

Both shows are produced by MTV Entertainment Studios and 101 Studios.

Yellowstone to End with Season 5B, Sequel Confirmed

“Yellowstone has been the cornerstone on which we have launched an entire universe of global hits – from 1883 to Tulsa King,” said Chris McCarthy, President & CEO Showtime/MTV Entertainment Studios.

“I am confident our Yellowstone sequel will be another big hit, thanks to the brilliant creative mind of Taylor Sheridan and our incredible casts who bring these shows to life.”

“The Dutton story continues, picking up where Yellowstone leaves off in another epic tale. We are thrilled to bring this new journey to audiences around the world,” said David Glasser, CEO, 101 Studios.

Yellowstone chronicles the Dutton family, led by John Dutton (Kevin Costner), who controls the largest contiguous cattle ranch in the United States.

Amid shifting alliances, unsolved murders, open wounds, and hard-earned respect — the ranch is in constant conflict with those it borders — an expanding town, an Indian reservation, and vicious business rivalries.

Yellowstone is co-created by Oscar-nominated screenwriter Taylor Sheridan (Wind River, Hell or High Water and Sicario) and John Linson. The executive producers include John Linson, Art Linson, Taylor Sheridan, Kevin Costner, David C. Glasser, Bob Yari, Stephen Kay and Christina Voros.