Skip to Content

Dead Boy Detectives Adaptation Revealed by Netflix

Today, Netflix debuted the official trailer for Dead Boy Detectives, premiering globally on Netflix on Thursday, April 25.

The eclectic composition of characters, based on the beloved comics by Neil Gaiman and brought to life by co-showrunners Steve Yockey (The Flight Attendant, Supernatural) and Beth Schwartz (Sweet Tooth, Arrow), provides the series with fun, whimsy, humor, and fantastical horror that all come together in perfectly imperfect harmony.

Dead Boy Detectives Adaptation Revealed by Netflix

Try not to fall in love with the dead boy detectives and their crew in this trailer as they solve mystifying paranormal cases to the tune of a wonderfully nostalgic rendition of My Chemical Romance’s anthemic ode to the afterlife, “Welcome to the Black Parade.”

Do you have a pesky ghost haunting you? Has a demon stolen your core memories? You may want to ring the Dead Boy Detectives.

Jayden Revri as Charles Rowland, Kassius Nelson as Crystal Palace, and George Rexstrew as Edwin Payne.

Meet Edwin Payne (George Rexstrew) and Charles Rowland (Jayden Revri), “the brains” and “the brawn” behind the Dead Boy Detectives agency.

Teenagers born decades apart who find each other only in death, Edwin and Charles are best friends and ghosts… who solve mysteries.

Briana Cuoco as Jenny Green and Yuyu Kitamura as Niko Sasaki.

They will do anything to stay together—including escaping evil witches, Hell, and Death herself.

With the help of a clairvoyant named Crystal (Kassius Nelson) and her friend Niko (Yuyu Kitamura), they are able to solve some of the mortal realm’s most mystifying paranormal cases.

Kassius Nelson as Crystal Palace, George Rexstrew as Edwin Payne, Jayden Revri as Charles Rowland, and Joshua Colley as Monty.

As part of The Sandman universe for Netflix and based on the beloved comic series from Neil Gaiman, Dead Boy Detectives was developed for television by Steve Yockey, who wrote the first episode and serves as showrunner alongside Beth Schwartz as co-showrunner.

Greg Berlanti, Yockey, Schwartz, Jeremy Carver, Sarah Schechter, Leigh London Redman, and Gaiman serve as executive producers of the series from Berlanti Productions and Warner Bros. Television.