The Grinch Brings Joy to the Box Office with $66 Million

While Venom opens with $111 million in China

The Grinch Brings Joy to the Box Office with $66 Million

Christmas came early this year as Illumination Entertainment’s Dr. Seuss’ The Grinch opened at No. 1 at the North American box office with an estimated $66 million from 4,141 theaters, an average of $15,938 per location. Released by Universal Pictures, the animated family film also brought in $12.7 million from 23 international markets, putting the worldwide opening at $78.7 million.

Made for $75 million, The Grinch was directed by Scott Mosier and Yarrow Cheney. It features the voices of Benedict Cumberbatch, Rashida Jones, Kenan Thompson, Cameron Seely, Angela Lansbury, and Pharrell Williams. Based on How the Grinch Stole Christmas by Dr. Seuss, The film received an A- CinemaScore from audiences.

Sony Pictures‘ Venom dominated the international box office with an opening of $111 million in China. The debut marks the second-highest ever for a superhero film, the fifth best launch of all time for an imported film, and Sony’s biggest China opening of all time. With now $206.2 million domestically and $467.3 million overseas, Venom‘s global box office has reached $673.5 million. The Ruben Fleischer-directed film cost $100 million to make and stars Tom Hardy, Michelle Williams, Riz Ahmed, Scott Haze, and Reid Scott.

Back at the domestic box office, 20th Century Fox’s Queen biopic Bohemian Rhapsody dropped a spot to second place with $30.9 million, a dip of just 39.6% in ticket sales. That puts the film over the $100 million mark in just two weeks in theaters. Internationally, the movie earned another $63 million to put its overseas total at $185.2 million and global sum at $285.3 million. Made for $52 million, Bohemian Rhapsody stars Rami Malek as Freddie Mercury, as well as Lucy Boynton, Gwilym Lee, Ben Hardy, Joseph Mazzello, Aiden Gillen, Tom Hollander, and Mike Myers.

Bad Robot’s first horror film, Overlord (Paramount), opened in third place with $10.1 million from 2,859 theaters, an average of $3,533. The film was also released in 52 international markets, where it grossed $9.2 million, for a global total of $19.3 million. Receiving a B CinemaScore, the Julius Avery-directed movie stars Jovan Adepo, Wyatt Russell, Jacob Anderson, Dominic Applewhite, Pilou Asbaek, Iain de Caestecker, John Magaro, Mathilde Ollivier, and Bokeem Woodbine. It cost $38 million to make.

Disney’s The Nutcracker and the Four Realms added $9.6 million its second weekend in fourth place, for a total of $35.3 million. The $120 million-budgeted film is performing better overseas with $13.5 million this weekend and a total of $61.4 million ($15.8 million from China), for a worldwide total of $96.7 million. Directed by Lasse Hallström and Joe Johnston, The Nutcracker and the Four Realms stars Mackenzie Foy, Morgan Freeman, Helen Mirren, Jayden Fowora-Knight, Eugenio Derbez, Matthew Macfadyen, Richard E. Grant, Miranda Hart, Sergei Polunin, Omid Djalili, Jack Whitehall, Meera Syal, Ellie Bamber, and Misty Copeland.

Rounding out the top five was Sony’s The Girl in the Spider’s Web, which brought in only $8 million from 2,929 theaters, an average of $2,736 per theater. The adaptation of the novel earned just $6.2 million from 49 international markets, for an overseas total of $8.3 million so far. Made for $43 million, the Fede Álvarez-directed film stars Claire Foy, Sverrir Gudnason, Lakeith Stanfield, Sylvia Hoeks, Stephen Merchant, Claes Bang, Christopher Convery, Synnøve Macody Lund, and Vicky Krieps. It received a B CinemaScore.

Warner Bros. Pictures’ A Star is Born grossed $8 million in sixth place and has earned $178 million domestically after six weeks. The film also generated $9 million this weekend from 68 international markets and is up to $144.8 million overseas. The worldwide total is now at $322.8 million. Produced for $36 million, the film stars Bradley Cooper and Lady Gaga. Cooper also directed the film.

Paramount Pictures comedy Nobody’s Fool added $6.5 million its second weekend in the seventh spot for a total of $24.3 million. Written, directed, and executive produced by Tyler Perry, the film cost only $19 million to make. It stars Tiffany Haddish, Tika Sumpter, Omari Hardwick, and Whoopi Goldberg.

Sony Pictures also released director Jason Reitman’s The Front Runner, starring Hugh Jackman, in four Los Angeles and New York theaters where it earned $56,000 this weekend and has grossed $76,199 since Election Day. Vera Farmiga, J.K. Simmons and Alfred Molina also star in the film, based on the book All the Truth is Out by Matt Bai. The Front Runner will expand on both November 16 and November 21.

Disclaimer: This post may contain affiliate links through which we earn a commission if you decide to make a purchase, at no cost to you. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here