Skip to Content

New and Returning Outlander Cast Announced

Starz announced today the return of several fan-favorite Outlander cast members and the addition of five new cast members joining the popular time-traveling series for its upcoming seventh season, which is now filming in Scotland.

Loyal fans will recognize Graham McTavish (House of the Dragon, The Hobbit films) reprising his role as Dougal MacKenzie, Jamie’s uncle whom he killed just before the battle of Culloden; Nell Hudson (Victoria) as Laoghaire Fraser, Jamie’s ex-wife and Marsali’s mother; and Steven Cree (A Discovery of Witches, Outlaw King) as Old Ian Murray, Young Ian’s father and Jamie’s brother-in-law.

New and Returning Outlander Cast Announced

Also back are Andrew Whipp (Shetland) as Brian Fraser, Jamie’s father; Layla Burns (She Will) as Joan MacKimmie, Marsali’s sister and Jamie’s stepdaughter; and Lotte Verbeek (The Fault in Our Stars) as Geillis Duncan, Claire’s former friend-turned-enemy and a fellow time traveler from the 1960s.

Several new actors will be joining the Outlander cast for season seven, including Gloria Obianyo (Dune) as Mercy Woodcock, a free Black woman navigating the hardships of life in Colonial America; Rod Hallett (The Last Kingdom) as Benedict Arnold, the notorious Revolutionary soldier turned traitor; Chris Fulton (Bridgerton) as Rob Cameron, a new acquaintance of Roger and Brianna.

Outlander Cast

The new cast members are rounded out by Diarmaid Murtagh (Vikings) as Buck MacKenzie, the illegitimate son of Dougal MacKenzie and Geillis Duncan, and Roger’s ancestor, a role previously played by Graham McTavish in season five, and Kristin Atherton (Shakespeare & Hathaway) as Jenny Murray, Jamie’s sister and Young Ian’s mother, a role originated by Laura Donnelly in seasons one through three.

This rich list of talent joins the previously announced new Outlander cast members, including Charles Vandervaart as William Ransom, Izzy Meikle-Small as Rachel Hunter, and Joey Phillips as Denzell Hunter.

Outlander Cast

The returning fan-favorites are Caitríona Balfe as Claire Fraser, Sam Heughan as Jamie Fraser, Sophie Skelton as Brianna MacKenzie, Richard Rankin as Roger MacKenzie, David Berry as Lord John Grey, John Bell as Young Ian, Caitlin O’Ryan as Lizzie Beardsley, and Paul Gorman in both roles as the Beardsley twins, Josiah and Keziah.

“One of the many joys of our epic story is the element of time travel, which allows us to revisit some of our favorite characters in different times and places, and we’re thrilled to welcome back so many familiar faces for season seven,” said showrunner, writer and executive producer Matthew B. Roberts.

Roberts added: “In addition to our returning cast, we’re also excited to welcome several new actors to the ‘Outlander’ family and cannot wait to introduce them to fans in our extended season.”

The Outlander television series is inspired by Diana Gabaldon’s international best-selling books (order now), which have sold an estimated 50 million copies worldwide. All nine of the books have appeared on the New York Times best-seller list.

The Outlander television series has become a worldwide success with audiences. It spans the genres of history, science fiction, romance, and adventure in one amazing tale. Matthew B. Roberts, Ronald D. Moore, Maril Davis, Toni Graphia, Luke Schelhaas, Andy Harries, Jim Kohlberg, Caitríona Balfe, and Sam Heughan executive produce.

Outlander is produced by Tall Ship Productions, Left Bank Pictures, and Story Mining & Supply Company in association with Sony Pictures Television.