Skip to Content

First Tracks from the Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald Soundtrack

WaterTower Music today announced the details of the Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald soundtrack. Grammy and Emmy Award winner and multiple Oscar nominee James Newton Howard (Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, The Hunger Games franchise) returned as the composer, creating a robust, 25-track soundtrack which will be available to stream and purchase digitally on November 9. Fans are able to hear two of those tracks early, as WaterTower Music has just released both “Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald” and “Salamander Eyes.” Check them out below!

In addition to the score, the soundtrack will treat fans to three solo piano cues performed by James Newton Howard and not heard in the film: “Dumbledore’s Theme (Solo Piano),” “Fantastic Beasts Theme (Solo Piano),” and “Leta’s Theme (Solo Piano).” Those three tracks are scheduled to be released on October 26, 2018.

“To work on Fantastic Beasts is a wonderful musical opportunity,” describes composer James Newton Howard. “The movie is delightful, substantial, and complex; and [director] David Yates focuses very seriously on the music and is a truly passionate and enthusiastic collaborator.”

The album is scheduled to be released digitally on November 9, a week before the film’s release. It will be released on CD on November 30, 2018 and on vinyl in January 2019.

The Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald soundtrack track list:

1. The Thestral Chase
2. Newt and Leta
3. Dumbledore
4. The Kelpie
5. Newt and Jacob Pack for Paris
6. Nagini
7. Newt Tracks Tina
8. Queenie Searches for Jacob
9. Irma and the Obscurus
10. Blood Pact
11. Capturing the Zouwu
12. Traveling to Hogwarts
13. Leta’s Flashback
14. Salamander Eyes
15. Matagots
16. Your Story is Our Story
17. Leta’s Confession
18. Vision of War
19. Spread the Word
20. Wands into the Earth
21. Restoring Your Name
22. Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald
23. Dumbledore’s Theme (Solo Piano)
24. Fantastic Beasts Theme (Solo Piano)
25. Leta’s Theme (Solo Piano)

At the end of Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, the powerful Dark wizard Gellert Grindelwald (Johnny Depp) was captured by MACUSA (Magical Congress of the United States of America), with the help of Newt Scamander (Eddie Redmayne). But, making good on his threat, Grindelwald escaped custody and has set about gathering followers, most unsuspecting of his true agenda: to raise pure-blood wizards up to rule over all non-magical beings.

RELATED: The Final Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald Trailer

In an effort to thwart Grindelwald’s plans, Albus Dumbledore (Jude Law) enlists his former student Newt Scamander, who agrees to help, unaware of the dangers that lie ahead. Lines are drawn as love and loyalty are tested, even among the truest friends and family, in an increasingly divided wizarding world.

The film features an ensemble cast led by Eddie Redmayne, Katherine Waterston, Dan Fogler, Alison Sudol, Ezra Miller, Zoë Kravitz, Callum Turner, Claudia Kim, William Nadylam, Kevin Guthrie, Carmen Ejogo, Poppy Corby-Tuech, with Jude Law and Johnny Depp.

Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald is directed by David Yates, from a screenplay by J.K. Rowling. The film is produced by David Heyman, J.K. Rowling, Steve Kloves and Lionel Wigram. Tim Lewis, Neil Blair, Rick Senat and Danny Cohen serve as executive producers.

The Warner Bros. Pictures sequel will open in theaters on November 16, 2018.

Tom Holland and Zendaya Go Flying in New Spidey Set Pics
Tom Holland and Zendaya Go Flying in New Spidey Set Pics
Jeffrey Dean Morgan, David Strathairn and More Join Walkaway Joe
Jeffrey Dean Morgan, David Strathairn and More Join Walkaway Joe

Disclaimer: This post may contain affiliate links through which we earn a commission if you decide to make a purchase, at no cost to you. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.