Skip to Content

A Look at the Days Gone World and the Soundtrack Is Out Now

There’s no such thing as routine in the Days Gone world. Bend Studio is sharing what dangers await in the harsh wilderness before video game comes to PlayStation 4 on Friday, April 26.

Days Gone is an open-world action game set in the high-desert of the Pacific Northwest. Traversing harsh landscapes on their drifter bike, players must fight for resources as they attempt to survive broken roads, unpredictable weather, attacks from other human factions, infected wildlife and roaming Freakers – a brutal, dynamic world that is dangerous both day and night

At its core, Days Gone is about survivors and what makes them human: desperation, loss, madness, betrayal, friendship, brotherhood, regret, love – and hope. It’s about how even when confronted with such enormous tragedy they find a reason to live. Hope never dies.

You will play as Deacon in the game. In addition to human drifters, marauders, and other groups, Deacon must face a wilderness overrun by Freakers – mindless, feral creatures, more animal than human but very much alive and quickly evolving. Freakers have needs, habits and behaviors that the player can learn and adapt to.

The harsh high-desert of the Pacific Northwest offers a large variety of environments in a single geographical area. One minute Deacon can be riding through a pristine forest, a snow field, a lush meadow, and the next, be in the harsh desert lava fields. The hazardous environments, scarred by millions of years of volcanic activity, are defined by ancient lava flows, mountains, caves, cliffs and river basins, delivering a breathtaking backdrop to an equally diverse style of gameplay. Cinnabar mines, lava tube caves and small rural towns offer a variety of environments to explore.

Sony Music has also released the Days Gone soundtrack featuring music by Nathan Whitehead (The PurgeHe’s Out There, DeliriumKeanu). Available via Amazon and other stores, the 25-track collection also includes features from rising artists Jack Savoretti, Billy Raffoul & Zander Reese, as well as “Days Gone Quiet,” performed by Scottish singer-songwriter Lewis Capaldi.

Of the soundtrack, Whitehead says: “The ideas that define the score are the tenacity of the human spirit and the value of relationships. Early in the process John Garvin, creative director at Sony’s Bend Studio, described to me how the game isn’t simply about surviving, it also examines why we want to survive. When I heard that, I was instantly excited about all the places the music could go. I found it really interesting to be navigating the survival aspect and also this introspective aspect at the same time.

“The Pacific Northwest setting is absolutely beautiful and it really felt like the score needed to connect to this environment as well. Deacon and the environment seemed to call for an organic, lived-in sound with a touch of Americana.”

The Days Gone tracklist:

1. Days Gone
2. The Freakshow
3. We’ve All Done Things
4. Rest in Peace
5. Finding NERO
6. The Broken Road
7. The Rager Bear
8. A Good Soldier
9. Lost Lake
10. I Remember
11. Keep Them Safe
12. Riding NOMAD
13. Promises and Regrets
14. You’re Safe Now
15. What Did You Do?
16. Drifting Away
17. Sarah’s Theme
18. Light One Candle
19. Never Give Up
20. Holy War
21. Why We Fight
22. Soldier’s Eyes (performed by Jack Savoretti)
23. Hell or High Water (performed by Billy Raffoul)
24. Days Gone Quiet (performed by Lewis Capaldi)
25. Yesterday (performed by Zander Reese)

Will Smith and Martin Lawrence Wrap Bad Boys for Lif3 Filming
Will Smith and Martin Lawrence Wrap Bad Boys for Lif3 Filming
Raising Kratos Documentary Coming on the God of War Development
Raising Kratos Documentary Coming on the God of War Development

Disclaimer: This post may contain affiliate links through which we earn a commission if you decide to make a purchase, at no cost to you. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.